Vineyards of Château Gugès

Terroir

Terroir is a combination of soil-and-climatic factors and specific characteristics of the terrain (relief, wind, presence of waterbodies, woodlands, insolation, surrounding animal and vegetal life, human factors), which determine the varietal characteristics of produced wines. It is one of the fundamental notions of French oenology.

The Chateau Guges’ vineyards, located in the very heart of the Médoc region, benefit from Medoc’s privileged terroir for many reasons:

Сlimate

The Medoc peninsula is surrounded by two very important water bodies: the Atlantic Ocean and the Gironde estuary. This situation contribute, by regulating the temperature, to create a favorable microclimate for the vineyard and the grapes.

Soil and subsoil

The soils of the Medoc’s region are mostly composed of alluvial layers brought for millennia by the Garonne. They have a slightly high proportion of gravels, with more or less proportion of sand and clay. This kind of soils gives the vines a chance to work hard to get to provide itself with water and nutrients. An adage states that the vines must suffer to produce concentrated wine grapes… From this point of view, the degree of suffering of the vine in Medoc has reached its climax!

At Château GUGÈS, the soils consist in different proportions of the gravel, sometimes coarse, mixed with sand and clay. In the basement, there is a clay-limestone matrix (asteroid limestone) which thickness can reach several meters. Slight variations in the component proportions are very important – they can generate great differences in quality of wine, even between two neighbouring plots. It is precisely from this variety of terroirs that the diversity of wines is born.

The altitude of slopes is very low, from 10 to 12 meters on average at Château GUGÈS. They descend toward the forest, and shallow streams allow the rapid evacuation of rainwater. Soils are well drained, and the vine can evolve to give each plot a character specific to its terroir.

The vineyards are mainly planted with the colorful Cabernet Sauvignon (traditional for the northern part of the Medoc) and the elegant Merlot, with also a small proportion of the spicy Petit Verdot and the herbal Cabernet Franc.

  • Cabernet Sauvignon gives the bouquet a taste of eternity, saturating it with the shades of black currant, spices and coffee.
  • Merlot builds the structure of the wine, making it round and soft. Fruity moods of Merlot appear in juicy shades of plum and cherry, with floral flavors of rose and violet.
  • Petit Verdot offers flavors of dried herbs and tart blueberry. It also brings a deep black color to the wines.
  • Cabernet Franc brings tension to the wines and offers floral, plum, blackberry, cassis, spice and fresh herb flavors.

Les vignes du Château Gugès

Terroir

Le terroir est la combinaison de facteurs dépendants des spécificités climatiques et du sol (relief, vent, présence d’eau, forêt, ensoleillement, vie animale et végétale ainsi que de facteurs humains), qui déterminent les caractéristiques intrinsèques d’un vin. C’est l’une des notions de base de l’oenologie.

Les vignes du Château Gugès bénéficient de ce terroir privilégié du Médoc.

Son climat

La péninsule médocaine est bordée d’un côté par l’océan Atlantique et de l’autre par l’estuaire de la Gironde. En régulant la température, cette situation contribue à la création d’un micro-climat favorable aux vignes et par extension au raisin.

Sol et sous-sol

Les sols du Médoc sont majoritairement composés de couches aluviales déposées par la Garonne. Dont les proportions de gravier, de sable et de l’argile sont variables. Dans ce type de sol, les racines doivent travailler dur pour se procurer de l’eau et des nutriments. L’adage affirme que les vignes doivent souffrir pour produire des raisins de qualité … De ce point de vue, le degré de souffrance de la vigne dans le Médoc est à son maximum.

Au Château GUGÈS, les sols sont constitués de gravier, parfois grossier, mélangé avec du sable et de l’argile. Le sous-sol est une matrice argilo-calcaire (calcaire à Astéries) dont l’épaisseur peut atteindre plusieurs mètres. Les variations, même légères, dans la proportion des composants sont très importantes – elles peuvent générer de grandes différences de qualité de vin entre deux parcelles pourtant Avoisines. C’est précisément à partir de cette variété de terroirs qu’est née la diversité des vins.

Les parcelles sont sur de faibles pentes, de 10 à 12 mètres en moyenne, qui descendent vers la forêt et des ruisseaux peu profonds. Ces conditions permettent l’évacuation rapide des eaux de pluie ainsi qu’un drainage des sols.

Les vignes sont majoritairement plantées en Cabernet Sauvignon (cépage traditionnel dans le nord Médoc) et en Merlot mais aussi en Cabernet Franc et Petit Verdot en moindre proportion.

  • Le Cabernet Sauvignon donne au bouquet un arôme incomparable, avec des nuances de cassis, d’épices et de café.
  • Le merlot donne de la structure au vin, le rendant rond et doux. Les nuances fruitées de Merlot apparaissent dans des tons juteux de prune et de cerise, avec des arômes floraux de rose et de violette.
  • Le Petit Verdot offre des arômes d’herbes séchées et de myrtilles acidulées. Il apporte également une couleur noir profond aux vins.
  • Le cabernet franc apporte de la tension aux vins et offre des arômes floraux, de prune, de mûre, de cassis, d’épices et d’herbes fraîches.