The History of Château GUGÈS

The history of Château GUGÈS rests on the passion for wine… passion of people, who have always been committed to an ideal of perfection…

The origin of this domain dates back to the 18th century. It was founded by Bertrand and Jeanne Braneyre, the winemakers from Médoc, when the bought five hectares of vines in Cissac, April 18, 1769, which they exploited under the name “Braneyre-Les-Gunes”.

The successive heirs of this family didn’t stop making this domain prosper. The spacious bourgeois house was built in 1850 while at the end of the 19th century the wine began to be sold as «Grands Bourgeois du Médoc».

The Braneyre family remained the owner of the domain until 1958. By that time the vineyards were divided into small plots and many of them were sold…

In 1964, the domain was bought by the Lusset-Gugès family, owned it up to 2017. First of all new owners planted 6 hectares of vines.

In 1980, Georges-Claude and Colette Guges took the reins of power into their hands. They continued to plant vines and enlarge the family domain. The wines produced and bottled at the Château started to bear the name of «Vieux Braneyre».

On March 31, 1985, the Guges family bought a small plot of vines that had belonged to the Braneyre family. From that moment on, it sold the wine from this one of the best terroirs in Cissac under its original name “Château Braneyre Les Gunes”, cited in many editions of the prestigious «Le Guide Féret», the Bordeaux wine directory .

Unfortunately, nature is not always generous and on April 21, 1991, the frost devastated most of the vineyard. Then, in 1993, the Guges family was forced to sold the part of their vineyards, in particular the one exploited under the name of «Vieux Braneyre»…

When the management of the family business passed into hands of two sons of Georges-Claude and Colette Guges, Jean-Christophe and Philippe concentrated their efforts on the quality of «Château Braneyre les Gunes» vineyard using manual harvesting, wine clarification with egg whites and natural decantation during an 18-month aging in oak barrels.

On February 25, 1998, to honor their ancestors (winemakers since 1785), Jean-Christophe and Philippe Guges gave the name of «Château GUGÈS» to their prestigious vintage.

At the beginning of 2003, they enlarged their vineyard and joined forces with Jean-Jacques Dekais, а friend and businessman from Brussels.

In April 2017, the history of the Château GUGÈS made a new round. It was acquired by Alexander Zhuravlev, a businessman from Russia, a great lover of France, who is vitally interested in winemaking, particularly in the Bordeaux region. Despite the renovation and modernization of the old chateau and winery, which has been already launched, Alexander has decided to take care of the glorious heritage and traditions of the domain and not to break the link of times. To expand the vineyard it was bought…, architects, enologists and other professionals invited for cooperation.
The respect for the unique kindly soil, centuries-old traditions of winemaking and history of the domain will be preserved and multiplied.

L’histoire du Château Gugès

L’histoire du Châtaeu Gugès repose sur la passion du vin… la passion des hommes, depuis toujours porté par un idéal de perfection.

Les origines de la propriété remonte au 18e siècle, lorsque, le 18 avril 1769, deux vignerons médocains, Bertrand et Jeanne Braneyre, achètent 5 hectares de vignes à Cissac et qu’ils commencent à exploiter sous le nom de Château Braneyre-Les-Gunes”.

Les générations qui se sont succedés n’ont cessé de travailler à la prospérité de ce domaine familial. Preuves en sont la spacieuse maison bourgeoise construite en 1850 et les vins du Château vendus sous la distinction “Crus Bourgeois du Médoc” à la fin du 19ème siècle.

La famille Braneyre reste propriétaire du domaine jusqu’en 1958, date à laquelle le vignoble est divisé en petites parcelles, qui sont pour la plupart revendues.

En 1964, le domaine est acheté par la famille Lusset-Gugès, propriétaire jusqu’en 2017, qui acquiert également 6 hectares de vigne.

En 1980, George-Claude et Colette Gugès prennent les rennes de la propriété, ils développent le domaine en y intégrant de nouvelles parcelles. Les vins produits et embouteillés au Château prennent le nom de “Vieux Braneyre”.

Le 31 mars 1985, la famille Gugès achète une petite parcelle qui appartenait à la famille Braneyre. Le vin produit sur cette parcelle, l’un des meilleurs terroirs de Cissac, reprend le nom original de “Château Braneyre-Les-Gunes” et est cité dans plusieurs éditions du prestigieux guide Féret.

Malheureusement, la nature n’est pas toujours généreuse et le 21 avril 1991, le gel dévaste une grande partie de leurs vignes. En 1993, la famille Gugès est forcée de vendre le vignoble, dont la parcelle exploitée sous le nom de Vieux Braneyre.

Lorsque le Château passse aux mains des deux fils de Georges-Claude et Colette Gugès, Jean-Christophe et Philippe, ces derniers se concentrent sur la qualité du vin du Château Braneyre-Les-Gunes. Ils pratiquent notamment les vendanges manuelles et un vieillissement de 18 mois en fûts de chêne.

Le 25 février 1998, Jean-Christophe et Philippe Gugès décident d’honorer leurs ancêtres, vignerons depuis 1785, en baptisant leur vin prestige “Château Gugès”.

Début 2003, ils élargissent le domaine et s’associent à Jean-Jacques Dekais, ami et homme d’affaires brusselois.

En avril 2017, Alexander Zhuravlev, homme d’affaires russe, amoureux de la France, passionné de vin et particulièrement du bordelais fait l’acquisition de cette propriété familiale. C’est un nouveau tournant dans l’histoire du Château Gugès. Il décide d’entreprendre la rénovation de la propriété et la modernisation des installations en apportant un soin particulier au respect de l’héritage et des traditions qui ont construits ce lieu. De nouvelles parcelles viennent s’ajouter aux 5 hectares existants, le projet se développe autour de professionnels : architectes, oenologues, etc. attentifs aux particularités et aux typicités du Château Gugès, avec comme volonté la préservation et l’épanouissement de son histoire.