AOC Haut-Medoc

Médoc («Middle Country» or «Pagus Medulorum») is an Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC) for wine in the Bordeaux wine region of southwestern France, on the Left Bank of the Gironde estuary that covers the northern section of the viticultural strip along the Médoc peninsula. It is located at the northernmost point of the department between Lesparre (sub-prefecture) and the communes of Jau-Dignac and Loirac.

The Médoc appellation is divided into 8 sub-appellations: 6 communal ones which go from north to south along the Gironde estuary, towards Bordeaux: Saint-Estèphe, Pauillac, Saint-Julien, Margaux, Listrac and Moulis. And 2 so-called generic names: Médoc and Haut-Médoc.

The Haut-Médoc sub-appellation covers all the villages that are not “communal” as is the case of Cissac-Médoc. It begins at Saint-Seurin Cadourne north of Saint-Estèphe and ends at the gates of Bordeaux, Blanquefort.

It can be said that winemaking in this sub-appellation as well as AOC Médoc шт whole is traced into the Roman times and was already famous for producing quality wines. A lot of vestiges of the Empire dotted throughout the area. But in truth there were few plots of vines concentrated around Bordeaux. Nevertheless, for most of its history, the Haut-Médoc was a vast region of salt marshes used for animal grazing rather than viticulture. In the 17th century, Dutch merchants began an ambitious drainage project to convert the marshland into a usable vineyard area. Their objective was to provide the British market a wine alternative to the Graves and Portuguese wines that were dominating the market. Using technology that was advanced for that time, the Dutch were able to convert enough marshland to allow large estates to form all along the Gironde. Soon the Bordeaux wine regions of Margaux, Saint-Julien, Pauillac and Saint-Estèphe took shape. By the 19th century, the wine region of the Haut-Médoc was one of the most prosperous in France, with wines that had an international reputation that would be unparalleled till the late 20th century.

The soil in the Haut-Medoc region is mainly composed of thick gravel layers that have been swept down river over time and now sit on a base of heavy clay. The warm, well-drained gravel terraces provide ideal growing conditions for the late-ripening Cabernet Sauvignon grapes that dominate plantings in the Medoc. Further inland, the soils turn to deep deposits of clay, where the Merlot grape variety thrives. Patches of limestone and sandier soils add diversity to the more widely spread gravels, which otherwise dominate the terroir.

Administratively, Cissac-Médoc, where the Chateaux Guges is located, is a village located southwest of France, in the department of Gironde (33) in the Aquitaine region. It is located in the township of Pauillac being the part of the district of Lesparre-Médoc. The population of Cissac-Médoc was 2 068 people in 2015.

In Cissac-Médoc, the vineyard area is about 370 hectares divided between 24 independent harvesters, of which «Château GUGÈS» is one of the exceptional winemakers.

The property of «Château GUGÈS» is located in the very heart of this appellation and through the quality of its wines, work for the fame and prestige of “Haut-Médoc”, both in France and internationally.

AOC Haut-Médoc

Médoc (signifiant “pays du milieu” et tirant son origine de “pagus medulorum” ou terre médiane) est une appellation d’Origine Controllée (AOC) des vins de Bordeaux située sur la rive gauche de l’estuaire de la Gironde et qui s’étend au nord de la péninsule du Médoc. C’est l’appellation la plus au nord du département entre Lesparre (sous-préfecture) et les communes de Jau-Dignac et Loirac.

L’appellation Médoc est divisée en 8 sous-appellations : 6 communales qui vont du nord au sud le long de l’estuaire de la Gironde jusqu’à Bordeaux : Saint-Estèphe, Pauillac, Saint-Julien, Margaux, Listrac et Moulis et 2 appellations génériques : Médoc and Haut-Médoc.

La sous-appellation Haut-Médoc couvre une partie des villages qui sont hors appellations “communales”, dont Cissac-Médoc fait partie. Le Haut-Médoc commence à St Seurin Cadourne au nord de St Estèphe et termine aux portes de Bordeaux, à Blanquefort.

Les débuts de la viticulture remontent aux temps de l’Empire Romain dans cette appellation qui était déjà réputée pour la qualité de ses vins. De nombreux vestiges datant de cette époque y ont été retrouvés. Le nombre de pieds plantés autour de Bordeaux était évidemment bien moindre que ce qu’il est aujourd’hui et le Haut-Médoc était alors majoritairement recouvert de marais salants dédiés au bétail. Au 17ème siècle, les marchands hollandais ont entamé un ambitieux projet de drainage afin de convertir ces marais en une zone adaptée à la viticulture. Leur objectif était de proposer des vins en alternative aux vins de Graves ou du Portugal alors dominant sur le marché anglais. En utilisant une technologie avancée pour l’époque, ils ont réussi à drainer une zone de marécage suffisante pour permettre l’installation de grandes propriétés le long de la Gironde. Rapidement, les zones viticoles bordelaises de Margaux, St Julien, Pauillac et St Estèphe ont pris forme. Au cours du 19ème siècle, le Haut-Médoc fut l’une des régions viticoles les plus prospères de France, produisant des vins dont la réputation et le rayonnement à l’international furent inégalés jusqu’à la fin du 20ème siècle.

Le sol de la région du Haut-Médoc est principalement composé d’épaisses couches de gravier qui ont été balayées par la rivière au fil du temps et qui reposent maintenant sur une base d’argile lourde. Les terrasses de gravier chaudes et bien drainées offrent des conditions de croissance idéales au Cabernet Sauvignon, cépage dominant du Médoc à maturation tardive. Plus à l’intérieur des terres, les sols se transforment en dépôts profonds d’argile, où prospère le Merlot. Les parcelles de sols calcaires et sableux ajoutent de la diversité aux graviers, type de sol le plus répandu de la zone.
Le Château Gugès est situé à Cissac-Médoc, village du sud-ouest de la France situé dans le département de la Gironde (33) en région Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Il fait partie du canton de Pauillac et dépend de la sous-préfecture de Lesparre-Médoc. Sa population est d’environ 2000 habitants.

Les vignes de Cissac-Médoc s’étendent sur environ 370 hectares que se partagent 24 vignerons, desquels le Château Gugès en est un prestigieux représentant.
La propriété du Château Gugès est au coeur de l’appellation et travaille au rayonnement du Haut-Médoc en France et à l’international par la qualité de ses vins.